Paleo Apple Porridge

Paleo Apple PorridgeDSCN0005 copy

I got this recipe inspiration from Guilty Kitchen. I am fairly obsessed with this since I try to limit my grain intake. I tend make even a double or triple batch so I can have it for breakfast throughout the week. It is so fantastic on a cold morning.

I got to my version by experimentation. I would encourage everyone to tinker with their recipes. That is how I came to love cooking. I used to hate it as a child. I would sit with my dad, grandpa and uncles at Thanksgiving and watch football to avoid doing what I considered then “girlie” activities with my mom, grandma and aunts. Then I grew up and realized I couldn’t feed myself. So I started cooking but I failed multiples times, couldn’t follow recipes and hated it. Then I started using recipes as a guide and all the sudden I loved cooking. It became creative for me and less boring.

This reminds me of the oatmeal and porridge that my mom used to make me on the cool autumn mornings before school. Looking back there was quite a bit of sugar and fake stuff in that, and it usually came from a box. I am trying to get her to be more mindful of the types of food she is feeding my younger sisters. I’ll probably have to show her some scholar journal and present a graph before she will listen to me. My family is all very scientifically based, except with it comes to religion and politics but that is a soapbox for another time.

Paleo Apple Porridge Adapted from Guilty Kitchen

Serves one

  • 1 fairly/very ripe banana
  • 1 egg (or ¾ egg whites but I like the fat I get from the yolk)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 2 tbsp hemp hearts (I use this brand)
  • ½ cup milk of choice (I use almond milk)
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 apple (I prefer using soft apples for this recipes such as Gala)
  • ¾ cup water

Chopped up apple and place it in a microwave safe bowl with the ¾ cup water, microwave for 1:30-2 minutes. Drain apples and set aside. Combine your banana, egg, flax seed, hemp hearts and milk in a blender until banana and other ingredients are combined. Pour liquid into a saucepan on low/medium heat. Stir constantly (as the egg in this will burn). Add in almond butter once it is warm enough to melt it. Stir until a thick consistence is achieved. Fold in the drained apples. Serve immediately.

Happy Selfcare!DSCN0009

Leave a Reply

