Sweet Hummus

Before you go any further in this post you need to get some dates, and soak them in water for 12 hours and then come back.

I hope you had a lovely 12 hours now that you’ve done that we can continue on. See, I hate when I skim through a recipe I would like to try, get all my ingredients to together, get down to the steps and it says you have to soak or brine or marinate for a length of time. Seriously?! Why didn’t you tell me that earlier? Gah. So you are welcome.

I haven’t made this for a while because I have been following the Paleo lifestyle. In Paleo beans are on the no list for several reasons, the have phytic acid which has been called anti-nutrient, they don’t contain as much protein as people think and they can cause some bathroom issues for some people (like that child’s rhyme: “beans, beans the magic fruit the more you eat the more you..” you get the idea.)

However, after doing my own research I have decided for me that some black bean in my taco salad or a pseudo-cookie dough treat is acceptable. I continue to avoid peanuts (no those are not actually nuts) and soy, again for my own reasons.

DSCN0044 copyOne of my co-workers called this Sweet Hummus because its main ingredient is chickpeas. I call my delicious-warm-gooey-cookie-dough-like-finger-licking-good-bit-of-heaven but I suppose that it a long title. This is adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie (what a great blog name right).

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup pitted dates
  • 3 tbsp almond butter (or nut butter or your choice)
  • 2 tbsp almond meal (or cashew meal)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips.

Soak dates in ½ cup of water for 12 hours. Drained your chickpeas from the liquid in the can. Rinse them with cold tap water and drain them again, set them aside on a paper towels to dry. Drain dates from the soaking liquid (I save this liquid and use it as sweetener in my coffee). Combine all the ingredients in food processor except the chocolate chips. If your dough is too dry and isn’t combining you can add a tbsp of date soaking liquid or 1 tbsp almond milk. Remove from food processer and fold in chocolate chips. I heat 2 tbsp at a time for about 30 second in the microwave for perfect warm gooey treat at the end of a long day.

DSCN0050 copy 

Happy Selfcare

One thought on “Sweet Hummus

Leave a Reply

